The Billings Police Department is made up of 140 sworn police officers. The officers serve a population over 105,000 people. The officers patrol within the city limits which is approximately 41 square miles (urban with some rural). The Billings Police Department utilizes a central dispatch for police, fire, sheriff, and ambulance.

Within the police department are several divisions, both civilian and sworn. These include Administration/Command, Patrol, Animal Control, Specialized Units, Support Services and Investigations. 

Administration/Command includes the Office of Professional Standards, the Public Information Officer and the training division. The Patrol Division has numerous specialty units, including K9, School Resource Officers, Downtown Business Alliance Officers, STEP (traffic enforcement), Parks/Recreation Officer, Billings Clinic Officers and Bike Patrol. SWAT, Hostage Negotiators and the Bomb Squad are some of the specialized police units. Civilians in the records and front desk areas comprise the Support Services Division. Investigation encompasses numerous units, including as Detectives, Crime Analysis, Street Crimes, Evidence, CCSIU/HIDTA and specialized assignments, such as DEA, ATF, US Marshals, DVI and ICAC.

Check out the links to the side to see more information about any of these divisions.