The Planning Division administers the City and County subdivision regulations and coordinates reviews by various departments, utilities, schools and other agencies. For more information on the subdivision process including surveys that are exempt from subdivision review, contact the Planning Division.


In Montana, a subdivision is any division of land that creates one or more parcels containing less than 160 acres that cannot be described as a one-quarter aliquot part of a US government section so that the parcel may be sold or otherwise transferred.

The primary purpose for regulating land divisions is to promote orderly growth and development while protecting the natural environment and public health and safety.

The Montana Subdivision and Platting Act (76-3-101 et seq., MCA) requires all local governments to adopt subdivision regulations that are consistent with the State’s regulations.
The Yellowstone County Board of Planning, through the Planning Division (commonly referred to as the City-County Planning Department), reviews all land subdivisions within the City of Billings and Yellowstone County, with the exception of the City of Laurel and its planning area.

Subdivision Submittal Requirements