Traffic Control Board

  • 12 noon
  • Fourth Wednesday of every other month (January, March, May, July, September and November)
  • PW Conference Room - 2224 Montana Avenue
  • 5 members, 4-year term
Agendas & Meetings
Agendas are available prior to the meetings.
Most Recent Agenda | View All

Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Minutes | View All

For more information, contact Dakota Martonen at (406) 657-6289

If you are interested.  Apply using the Traffic Control Board Application.

trafficcontrol board | internet stock photo from UofMN Transportation Studies


First term expires 12/31/25


First term expires 12/31/25

John Armstrong
First term expires 12/31/22

Nicole Cromwell
First Term expires 12/31/23

Troy Smith
Term expires 12/31/22 

Sondra Baker
Ex-officio School Dist. 2 Transportation Director

Judge Sheila R. Kolar
Ex-officio City Court Judge

Lt. Brian Korell
Ex-officio Police Operations


Section 2-585-587

The Traffic Control Board shall be composed of five members who shall possess the qualifications for the office of Mayor and shall be appointed from the city at large by the Mayor with the consent of the City Council. The board shall in addition include as ex-officio board members the City Court Judge, transportation director from School District No. 2 and the Chief of Police or the Chief of Police’s designee.

The Traffic Control Board shall serve in an advisory capacity to the City Council in all aspects of traffic control with the exception of parking issues involving the central business district. The purpose of the board is to provide citizens input to the policy decisions of the City Council.

The primary responsibilities of the board are to review existing and proposed city policies and to review city department activities to ensure that city policies are being implemented and carried out and further to report any shortcomings and to make recommendations to the City Council in the area of traffic control.